Gist, Series, Story

The Amoke Akowekowura Series : Stories You Can Relate With. 

Hello friends, I am really sorry for the delay in posting this, last week was a terrible week for me (I lost a friend), my mind was quite messed up and I couldn’t put words together. 

You can check out the previous episode of this series here. Thank you. 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

We went with the guys into town and there we met another group of co-travelers. We exchanged pleasantries and once settled, we started talking about our trip. The guys had different things to talk about, from the ladies to the hustle and how money could be made. 

Later that night we went back to the house but it wasn’t until dawn that we realized that the guys had left in the middle of night to sleep in a hotel. 

We got up, had our bath and got dressed but stayed behind while relatives of the deceased prepared for the church service. When we heard that they were heading to the reception ground (I think it was George Burton Memorial College) we got dressed and went to meet them. 

At the reception, we had a very long table because there was a lot of us at the table. Our table drew massive attention as boys and girls had invoked different spirits of creativity into the sewing of their aso ebi. We were served food and drinks just before it was time for our friend to hit the dance floor. We followed him to the front of the performing musician and danced like our lives depended on our dancing skills. 

We eventually stayed on the stage throughout the performance because other people that were called wanted us to stay and dance for and with them. Of course, they sprayed money (but we packed and gave it to the person that took us there). 

After the party we went for our bags, said our goodbyes to the relatives at home and went to the hotel the guys had previously lodged in. There we got paired and I had to split up with the faces I had become familiar with, I was paired with two friends who actually looked like sisters but were actually friends. 

The room was really chilly, so I decided to stay outside for a while (silly mistake, I should have just switched rooms but how would I have known?). By the time I went back inside, the room was still chilly but the air in the room now had a mixture of cigarette smoke. The ladies had consumed packs of cigarettes and were still at it. I couldn’t breathe properly, I got on the bed and wrapped myself like a mummy trying to stop the offensive odour of the smoke from the cigarettes from reaching my nose.  

I don’t know how I didn’t die that night, but I didn’t. We got up early and got into the cars that took us to Ilesha, the journey back home was kind of boring as my new friends slept through it – turned out they partied all night. 

 One of the guys asked why I looked like someone who had a nightmare and I told him it was because I shared a room with chain smokers who chain smoked all night. Nobody believed me. They said it was smoke from around the hotel that hit my nose, they beat their chests to say the girls don’t smoke, they said I was dreaming. I was dumbfounded. 

We got into Ibadan and it started to rain. People started alighting at their bus stops but myself and the guys went home together. I wore a shower cap to protect my hair from the rain (it was no longer heavy, just drizzles) and as soon as I got to their gate I stepped out of the car, picked my bag, flagged down a bike and went home.

The door was locked when I got home and sadly for me, I forgot my purse and my copy of the house key inside the car. Okay, the sad part was that, I couldn’t stay outside because I was drenched and had to change my clothes and by the time I found out about the keys, the rain had moved from drizzles to  thunderstorm. It was a Sunday and I arrived just when service was starting in church so nobody, not a single body was to be seen till three four hours later. So, shower cap on head and nothing else, I got into the rain and made the about thirty minutes walk down to my friends place. It took a while before they heard I was knocking on the gate and when they opened the gate I just couldn’t enter the house, I asked for my purse which they found and returned to me. 

They could have dropped me off at home with one of the cars but all of the cars had gone out on a mission to return the various items that had been taken to Ilesha. I couldn’t sit and I needed to change my clothes, so once again, I got into the rain and with shivering lips, shaking hands and legs I opened the door and went inside; grabbed a towel, boiled water, had a warm bath and opened my eyes to see my mum and sister standing in front of me. 

I sure slept for so long. I got up to dress (well, I slept off in the towel) and had a nice meal before giving mum details of my trip. And yes, I skipped the cigarettes part. That would have been the last of solo trip if I hadn’t. 

Weeks later, the guys finally believed I wasn’t dreaming about the babes who smoked all night. I don’t know what happened but they called to say “it’s true, those girls really smoke”. Yes! I wasn’t hallucinating. 

Ilesha was fun and when I went back in 2014 it was for another burial ceremony. 

Thanks for reading. I’ll be away for a while but I will try to make it up to you guys with The Amoke Akowekowura Series.

Kindly drop a comment and don’t forget to follow the blog for notifications on new posts.

Amoke Akowekowura. 

Leave a Reply

